Difference between OpenPLI 3.0 and 4.0

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Max66

• 20 posts

Neutral

Posted 24 October 2013 - 07:03

Hello all,

I am quite new to OpenPLI: I migrated from DMM this summer and am very pleased with it but I have a few questions/suggestions:

I can't find a reference document which explains the difference between OpenPLI 3.0 and 4.0. I would expect 4.0 to be more recent with more recent Linux packages but since it is more recent, it may also not be as stable as 3.0. For example, I noticed that OpenSSL is version 0.9.8 in 3.0 and 1.0 in 4.0. What about other packages like Samba, Kernel, etc.? It would be very good if there was a comparison table like what you find on Distrowatch (including release notes, supported hardware, etc.). This would be very valuable for all OpenPLI users.

One thing I don't understand: In your comparison table, I see images for different hardware use different kernel version (2.6, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.8). Why not use the same?

I follow your Twitter feed every day, so I see all changes and commits. Do such changes apply to both version?

One other question: What is OpenPLI based on? I suppose you did not write this image from scratch! I know other distributions are based on DMM (Oozoon, Newnigma) or VU+ (BlackHole, VTI, VIX)

Last question, and this is probably linked to the previous: what is your dependency on hardware vendors? I see you recently stopped supporting Dreambox but I don't understand why if your image is not based on DMM. I have seen some forum posts which mentions you sometimes have to wait for drivers. Again, why do you need drivers? Don't you write your own? I am a bit "puzzled".

Else, keep up the good work, you have a fantastic image :)

Re: Difference between OpenPLI 3.0 and 4.0 #2 MiLo

• PLi® Core member
  • 14,048 posts

+298
Excellent

Posted 24 October 2013 - 08:00

One other question: What is OpenPLI based on? I suppose you did not write this image from scratch!